Question of the Month

Question of the Month

Dennis Snider

379 Posts

73 views

0

Question: Is it possible to disable iCloud photo sync from a Mac?

Answer:
iCloud Photos is an application that allows for the uploading and syncing of every image taken with an Apple device, allowing all your Apple devices to access them. This is really useful for backing up your images, but it can be very heavy on storage, which can slow down your computer. Fortunately, there is a way of disabling this feature.

iCloud Photos works through the Photos app. If you switch it on when setting up your Apple device, every photo you take will be stored at low resolution in your iCloud account. If you take 10 photos with your Mac and delete nine of them, just keeping the one you like, you still have nine photos in your photo library that you’re never going to use. You can save such a waste of space by disabling iCloud Photos. Simply open the Photos app, click the Photos button and select Preferences > iCloud, where you can uncheck the “iCloud Photos” option. This will stop your Mac saving all your photographs even when you’ve deleted them, although iCloud Photos will carry on working on iPhones and iPads.

You may find that even if you have disabled the iCloud Photo services, your previous photographs are still present; to remove these and free up the memory, go to the Library tab in the Photos app, delete all the photos you don’t want, then select “recently deleted” and choose “Delete all.”